Ballard alum joins Pac-12 Hall of Honor

Ballard basketball great George Irvine is being recognized for his accomplishments in his career. Irvine, whose BHS jersey was retired last year, is now entering the Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Hall of Honor.

Here is the write-up from the Pac-12:

George Irvine, Washington – Irvine tore up the record books and made a mark on the program that remains visible today. Irvine started all three years (1968-70) as a Husky and led the team in scoring in both his junior (15.6 ppg) and senior seasons (20.0 ppg), respectively. He also led the team in rebounding during his sophomore year (7.6 rpg) and his junior year (7.5 rpg). Irvine led the Huskies in field goal percentage each of his three years on the varsity team and would leave the program in 1970 as the school’s all-time field goal percentage leader (.588), a mark that would stand until 1987. Irvine now ranks fourth on that list and currently is 21st on UW’s all-time scoring list with 1,314 points. His show-stopping play earned him a spot on the All-Pac-8 team his senior season. In 1970, Irvine was drafted by both the NBA Seattle SuperSonics and the ABA Virginia Squires. He opted to sign with the Squires and played five years with the team, then two seasons with the Denver Nuggets before suffering a career-ending knee injury in 1977. In 1980, Irvine embarked on a 25-year career in the NBA working as an assistant coach, head coach and vice president of basketball. He started as an assistant coach in stints with the Indiana Pacers, Detroit Pistons and Golden State Warriors, but would also get his shot as a head coach for Indiana and Detroit. Irvine also worked in the Pacers’ front office helping to assemble their successful teams during the 1990’s.

The other individuals to be inducted are: Richard Jefferson (Arizona), Kurt Nimphius (Arizona State), Lamond Murray (California), Burdette Haldorson (Colorado), Jim Barnett (Oregon), A.C. Green (Oregon State), George Selleck (Stanford), Ed O’Bannon (UCLA), Sam Barry (USC), Arnie Ferrin (Utah) and Steve Puidokas (Washington State). (Photo courtesy The Seattle Times.)

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Notify of