Daily news for Seattle's Ballard neighborhood

 
Register or log in to post

My Ballard Forum » Open Forum

Knoq.com-anybody know about this?

(12 posts)
  1. gordy

    gordy

    offline
    Member

    Anybody know about this website? They claim that once you sign up you get savings from local services and delivery businesses. Their sign in form asked a bunch of questions including address and phone number, but there was no preview/intro page to give an idea of if it is worth signing up.

    Posted 7 months ago #
  2. onederfullone

    onederfullone

    offline
    Member

    knoq knoq

    who's there?

    Nobody good.

    Posted 7 months ago #
  3. phoo

    phoo

    offline
    Member

    For a supposed coupon-type site, there are some odd things in the TOS:

    "Subject to the restrictions on use and on posting set forth in this Agreement, you may: use the Knoq Site to share Content with other Knoq Site users; search the Knoq Site Content; forward Content to people you know, whether or not they are existing Knoq Service users; invite people you know to join the Knoq Service; and upload, download or copy the portions of the information, data, text, sound, photographs, graphics, video, messages, and other materials available via the Knoq Service, and other items displayed on the Knoq Site (“Content”), for your own use"

    Hmmm, I got distracted by nearly setting my kitchen on fire, so I think I'll just leave it at that. There's a lot of things that make the TOS look a little odd as to what the service actually is and what it is a part of. They keep referencing "The Mighty Village" so that would probably be the next thing to Google.

    Posted 7 months ago #
  4. Rudy

    Rudy

    offline
    Member

    When something is free, think really hard what (or who) the actual product is. I would not trust giving personal information based on a postcard I got in the mail...but that's just me.

    Posted 7 months ago #
  5. Ernie

    Ernie

    offline
    Member

    knoq knoq

    who's there?

    Nobody good.

    A much more concise version of what phoo said. :)

    Posted 7 months ago #
  6. Corvus

    Corvus

    offline
    Member

    opps wrong thread!

    Posted 7 months ago #
  7. crownhiller

    crownhiller

    offline
    Member

    The "Mighty Village Inc" is the parent company of this startup, 3 local guys who have been involved in various other tech startups. There's some mock up pages out there that lead me to believe its kinda Foursquare meets Angies List - I too thought the terms of service were kinda odd. I could be totally wrong but I had the sense it was a way to accumulate marketing related info on users.

    Posted 7 months ago #
  8. Mondoman

    Mondoman

    offline
    Member

    One of the more recent types of scams is to get people to fill in their personal info by promising a chance at a free item or discounts. I'd be leery of doing so without up-front or otherwise clear benefits.

    On a not-so-related note, one of the former kozmo.com guys is apparently running a quick-delivery service in NYC now (same-day or maybe even 1-hour). It only works in a specific few-square-mile area there, because they're using bike messengers.

    Posted 7 months ago #
  9. phoo

    phoo

    offline
    Member

    mondoman: I remember and miss kozmo. For years I had Kozmo post it notes. No wait, I still have a couple remaining.

    Posted 7 months ago #
  10. great idea

    great idea

    offline
    Member

    I just got the flyer in yesterday's mail for knoq.

    "I could be totally wrong but I had the sense it was a way to accumulate marketing related info on users. "
    right on, crownhiller.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OmEpkztK5Lw

    Posted 7 months ago #
  11. gordy

    gordy

    offline
    Member

    Thanks for your opinions. It definitely is a site I will not sign up on.

    Posted 7 months ago #
  12. julesage

    julesage

    offline
    Member

    Thanks for this post. I got that little card mailer in the mail too and was very curious, yet, suspicious.

    Posted 7 months ago #

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.

OUR SPONSORS










Advertise here
There are 141 users online. 8 of them are members.
217007 posts in 14917 topics over 62 months by 3932 of 97668 members. Latest: sparkmants, hogand24, rqtcdok5112