$15/hr?

Home Forums Open forum $15/hr?

This topic contains 57 replies, has 19 voices, and was last updated by  9 4 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 58 total)
  • Author

GAM
    Participant

So what about this minimum wage hubbub, anyway?

Cate
    Participant

I do think the minimum wage should be raised but I haven’t heard any rationale of why it should be $15.00 It seems like somebody randomly said that figure and it became the rallying point. I think that $12.00 sounds reasonable to me but I have no factual knowledge to base that on either. I do think that we should be talking the federal minimum wage not localities to prevent states from holding wages artificially low to attract industry.

GAM
    Participant

I, too, am all for making sure folks have a living wage.

But.

I have heard that we have one of the highest minimum wages already. I have also heard we have one of the highest rates of rent increases in the country. So I’m having trouble understanding how raising the wage further will make housing more affordable. Won’t that just send our rent increase rate even higher?

Also, I have concerns about not having the $15 minimum wage include total compensation. Setting aside that tips are sometimes inconsistent (that’s why God gave us averages), if this is all about raising up the working poor, why are we also giving a raise to people that are doing OK? I mean, that’s nice and all, but it seems off point. If we leave the people alone that are doing OK with their tips, doesn’t that leave more money on the table for the folks that really need the raise?

I have a fear, too, that people will get the raise, but at the expense of losing benefits as small businesses try to balance the books. I would hate for someone to get an extra (say) $300/month but then have to pay more than that to replace their health care that is no longer provided to them.