Missing link

Home Forums Open forum Missing link

This topic contains 22 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 5 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

I started riding my bike to work recently and totally get the need for the missing link to be built. Riding down that stretch of Shilshole Avenue is unnerving. As vehicles approach from behind, I’m just hoping they see me and don’t happen to be texting or reaching for their coffee.

To avoid that, I’ve started riding down Ballard Avenue. It’s fun to ride down there when the street’s still quiet and most of the businesses aren’t open yet.

VeganBiker
    Participant

CR – thanks for bringing up this topic again! We need to have this fixed!
    Although SDOT has made a number of improvements along the “missing link” we really need to keep the pressure on to finally complete the BG Trail the way it was planned many years ago.
    I believe that the EIS should be finished next year and I really hope that that will be the end of the opposition to completing the trail.
    http://www.seattle.gov/transportation/BGT_Ballard.htm

As you mentioned, Ballard Ave is a great way to avoid the Shilshole Ave. mess.
    Happy biking to you.

Edog
    Participant

My intuition tells me this won’t be solved by the EIS. The missing link won’t be finished until the industrial contingent of Ballard, the City, and developers form a consensus on land use for the area east of 15th and south of Market. While I think there is a real issue here for the businesses immediately along the trail, I believe for many, they are against the path as its seen as a very real border to the protection of their enterprise.

VeganBiker
    Participant