What would you do? Neighbor's dog…

Home Forums Open forum What would you do? Neighbor's dog…

This topic contains 32 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  Life is amazing 4 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 33 total)
  • Author

Avocado Head
    Participant

Just curious as to how you all would handle this.

Somewhere in my vicinity is a neighbor who lets their cute little doggie run around off leash… I have spotted it in my front and back yard several times. I don’t think it is an “escapee” as it happens often, and there is never a person wandering around calling out any dog-like names.

It seems to be harmless and skittish… won’t let me get close to check it’s tags, and I have not been able to figure out where it lives, despite following it. It darts off so fast and through hedges, etc… Doesn’t seem aggressive at all towards humans, but chases my cat up a tree every chance it gets.

I am fairly new to backyard politics, and while there doesn’t seem to be any harm done so far, I’d prefer if my cat could enjoy sunning herself in peace. In principle it just seems like a no-brainer to me… Don’t let your dog run around in other people’s yards as recreation! While it may be sweet and harmless, you never know about other people’s spaces… Kitties, kids, much larger and more aggressive dogs… Grumpy old men with tranquilizer guns and taxidermy hobbies.

I’ve pretty much decided to ignore it for now, but was just curious as to what others think / would do. Thanks!

-Avo

pennygirl
    Participant

There is nothing you can do until you figure out who the dog belongs to. I don’t know if you can borrow a leash from someone, but if you can, try and grab him/her (hopefully he/she has a collar) and let the dog walk you home. If she/he isn’t a stray, this should come naturally.