BHS film students win big at local film festival

Ballard High School is turning into a mini Hollywood; video production students took home 14 awards at the recent Northwest High School Film Festival.

Photo courtesy BHS

There were 354 productions from 25 high schools entered into the 14th annual film festival, which is the largest and longest running festival for high school filmmakers in the Puget Sound region, according to BHS teacher Matt Lawrence. The festival was judged by a panel of 23 industry professionals and college media professors.

BHS students’ productions were honored in six different categories: Comedic Narrative, Commercial, News Feature, Public Service Announcement, Dramatic Narrative, and Music Video. Lawrence tells us that some of the winning productions will be shown Friday, June 1 at The Showing, a screening of work by BHS video production students. The Showing will start at 7 p.m. in the BHS auditorium. Tickets will be sold at the door and are $10 for adults and $8 for students.

Ballard’s Northwest High School Film Festival winners:

Awards of Excellence:

Comedic Narrative: “The Number” by Alex Guettler, Ana Krafchick, Helen Miller

Commercial: “Crash Landing Pizza” by Ariahna Ghormley, Louis Weissman, Mackenzie Wright

News Feature: “Your Teen Health Center” by Zachary Green, Isaiah Hoban Halversen, Kimi Rutledge

Public Service Announcement: “Ballard Food Bank” by Brittney Blokker, Jacob Scott, Sam Weller and “Paper or Plastic” by Oona Lowe, David Moore, Adlai Nissen

Honorable Mentions

Comedic Narrative: “Chalk” by Kenton King, Adlai Nissen, Silvano Ross and “Thanks for Nothing” by Cedar Crook, Alex James, Brianna Kadem

Dramatic Narrative: “The Craft” by Walker Evans, Elise Neroutsos, Sam Weller, James Vitz-Wong; “Falling” by Dayan Flynn-Walsh, Oona Lowe, Mackenzie Wright; “Making a Mark” by Brittney Blokker, Helen Miller, Sam Welle; and “Sunlight” by Isaiah Hoban Halversen, Kenji Takada-Dill

Music Video: “We Are the Children” by John Christensen, Darienne Noelle-Clark, Alex Scheller, Jacob Scott

Public Service Announcement: “Extend School Lunch” by Nick Coons-Levy, Gabe Fabens, Quinlin North, Lorenzo Rossi; “Trash Talks” by Julian Amrine, Nick Hauger, Josh Vredevoogd

Leave a Reply